Flight Model/trim/flap/attitude?

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 jetjerry

jetjerry

• Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 27 January 2011 - 01:27 PM

I just purchased your MD-87. I have perhaps every DC9/MD80/B717 made for FSX.
I am also a real world retired pilot with many hours in DC9 etc jets and others.

I am amazed that with all these DC9 derivatives made for FSX, that nobody seems to get it right, except one that is getting so old now that it has become a pain to get it to work
correctly too...some times.

It seems to me we have an influx of very good graphic designers (like CLS) that know little or nothing about aeronautics, and don't take the time
to find out or ask /employ others that do know. I am sorry to take it out on you guys, but the list does seem to be growing.

*The elevator control settings you used are ridiculous. It leaves one with almost no elevator manual control at all. What little control there is, when used, drives things long after you wanted the input. This makes a manual approach and flare almost impossible.
**The flap travel time is too long as well. I assume again to make up for a bad air.file.
***The pitch on approach at Vref is too nose high.
****The lift-off speed is too low even with the trim full forward but still in the green.

I see too that these problems were noted by "Mendota" on 9 Aug, 2010 for the MD-81 series.

I know we give our money over the internet, and seldom see release problems fixed anymore, and I for one am getting a little tired of it. I'm not just blaming CLS, for there are many using this philosophy to building flightsim products. Am I to assume that since you've known about these issues since Aug, 2010 that they are not to be fixed?

I can't be the only one out there in flightsim land that is starting to feel this way!

The MD-87 looks great! Now if only it would fly well too, you'd have a winner.

Jerry

#2 Albert_Bouwman

Albert_Bouwman

StarCaptain

• Root Admin
  • 6368 posts