Jump to content


Photo

Frame Rate tips


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Albert_Bouwman

Albert_Bouwman

    StarCaptain

  • Root Admin
  • 6368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Holland
  • Interests:Aviation

Posted 27 February 2006 - 06:43 AM

If your frame rate is low, we have a few tips to consider:

1.
Be sure you use the latest drivers of your hardware.

2.
Our sounds are pretty big to get highest quality. But, some systems (others dont) get slower frames because of this. We made a special, low size, soundpack for this.
www.commerciallevel.com/liveries

3.
Our textures are standard in 32 bit, highest quality. this can eat frames. So, we also offer a livery pack with DXT textures, lower size, yet still good quality.
www.commerciallevel.com/liveries

4.
If you want to use the VC, but the above two dont help, we have one other tip. You can reduce the size of the Virtual cockpit texture by resizing them to 512x512 pixels. This improves load time of the VC alot, and also boosts the fps in VC model (hardly affects exterior fps, perhaps 0.5 fps more or so).
One site affect though, the textures in the VC become less sharp, Most of the painted text will get a bit blurred so you can hardly read. But, the general view of the VC is still very nice.

CLS offers this reduced VC pack:
Click here
Cheers,

Albert Bouwman
Commercial Level Simulations
Posted Image

#2 Albert_Bouwman

Albert_Bouwman

    StarCaptain

  • Root Admin
  • 6368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Holland
  • Interests:Aviation

Posted 01 March 2006 - 05:02 AM

Another tip, found by Missi!

In the panel cfg [Vcockpit01]

[Vcockpit01]
Background_color=0,0,0
size_mm=512,512
visible=0
pixel_size=1024<----------------------------------Change this value to "512"
texture=$clsa3456b


Although VC CRT gauge resolution is going to bit lower quality, but FPS goes to much higher!
Cheers,

Albert Bouwman
Commercial Level Simulations
Posted Image

#3 Guest_Samuel Bolton_*

Guest_Samuel Bolton_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 March 2006 - 03:04 PM

The link for the NOVC option does not work.

Please could you reset it?


Sam smile.gif

#4 Albert_Bouwman

Albert_Bouwman

    StarCaptain

  • Root Admin
  • 6368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Holland
  • Interests:Aviation

Posted 15 March 2006 - 02:56 AM

done
thanks for reporting
Cheers,

Albert Bouwman
Commercial Level Simulations
Posted Image

#5 Guest_Casey Dalal_*

Guest_Casey Dalal_*
  • Guests

Posted 23 June 2006 - 09:29 AM

I'm considering purchasing the A340-500/600 and I have heard that there were problems with the framerates. Personally I can detect even small changes in framerates and it gets me a little fursturated. I have both the A300 and A310 and really enjoy them, I haven't noticed any changes in the framerates with those planes. If I do purchase the A345/6 I most likely will use the wingviews and no VC as I don't really care for those. My current computer specs are P4 at 3GHz, 1GB RAM, 256MB GeForce 6800 graphics card, 160GB Hard Drive. Any advice on whether or not I would see a loss in framerates? Thanks! cool.gif

#6 Albert_Bouwman

Albert_Bouwman

    StarCaptain

  • Root Admin
  • 6368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Holland
  • Interests:Aviation

Posted 23 June 2006 - 01:07 PM

it sounds like a good system to me, but I let some others join in first to make final decision
Cheers,

Albert Bouwman
Commercial Level Simulations
Posted Image

#7 TrueLife_TrueFS

TrueLife_TrueFS

    StarCaptain

  • Approved Member
  • 667 posts
  • Location:capital of somewhere
  • Interests:aviation,speed,and IT

Posted 24 June 2006 - 12:40 AM

that system will run the CLS a345/346 good,of course it's also depends on the display settings
mine is like 1/4 your computer and runs cls quite good(about 20 FPS)
I belong to the sky
IPB Image

#8 Guest_charithrac_*

Guest_charithrac_*
  • Guests

Posted 23 November 2006 - 10:12 PM

i got a AMD64 3000+ and 2 gb ram with 500Gb HDD and 7900GT 256mb vga. and cls pack goes fine in mine.

cool.gif cool.gif cool.gif cool.gif cool.gif

#9 Randomness

Randomness

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 April 2008 - 11:28 PM

My Computer Went Really slow with the defualt sound and Textures (and only the CLS textures were working blink.gif ) But this got my Computer Running Fast Again!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users